Enslaved – The Sleeping Gods Thorn LP


I lager


Enslaved releases “The Sleeping Gods – Thorn”; a full-length album comprised of rare material from 2010/2011. For the first time this unique collection of experimental material, also connecting with their early roots, is available as an album.
“The Sleeping Gods – Thorn” will mark the conclusion of Enslaved’s 25th anniversary year.

Costin Chioreanu of Twilight 13 Media (Roadburn Festival, Opeth, Darkthrone, At The Gates, etc.) did the beautiful new layout, including mesmerizing new illustrations, displaying a unique symbiosis between two of our times’ most exciting visual and sonic artists.

The songs originally appeared on extremely limited EPs between the full-length albums “Axioma Ethica Odini” and “Riitiir”, and is recorded both in Solslottet Studio in Bergen, as well as the band member’s own studios and partly in the deep woods of Valevaag on the south-west coast of Norway. Like the songs itself, the production is a mix of old and new; high tech and no-tech – a mix of concepts that has been essential in achieving the signature sound Enslaved is famous for today. Ivar Bjørnson and Grutle Kjellson from Enslaved co-produced the material together with long-time collaborator Iver Sandøy.

The album has lyrics sung in both Norwegian, English and Old Norse, and the theme
centres on mythology and the esoteric side of the runes; as well as
contrasting the Norse Ways as a polytheistic belief system to the
monotheistic plague of the Big World Religions. The music nods
respectfully to the wildly varying deities that make up the pantheon of
inspiration for Enslaved, both “then” and “now”. There are traces of
both proto-black metal of Bathory, the classic Rock and Heavy Metal of
the 70s and 80s, the synthisized and sequenced masters of the 70s,
prog-rock, world/ Norse folk music, Norwegian Black Metal of the 90s,
modern classical music, goth rock a la Fields of the Nephilim and much

Enslaved was formed in 1991 by Ivar Bjørnson and Grutle Kjellson, and
did their first demo “Yggdrasill” in the summer of 1992, while the
legendary mini-album “Hordanes Land” was released the year after in
1993. “Vikingligr Veldi” came in the spring of 1994 and is Enslaved’s
landmark debut album. Since then the band has released another 12
studio-albums, the latest being “In Times” in 2015 – they have won 4
Norwegian Grammys and toured Europe, the Americas, Asia and Australia
with growing success for over two decades!

1. Heimvegen
2. Alu Misyrki
3. Synthesis
4. Nordlys (instrumental)
5. The Sleeping Gods
6. Disintegrator
7. Striker

Mer information



Band origin